MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF MAIDSTONE BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT COUNTY HALL, MAIDSTONE ON 8 DECEMBER 2021

Present: Councillor Mrs Gooch (Mayor) and

Councillors Bartlett, Mrs Blackmore, Brice, Brindle, Bryant, Burton, Cannon, Clark, Coates, Cooke, Cooper,

Cox, Cuming, Daley, English, Eves, Fissenden,

Forecast, Fort, Garten, Mrs Grigg, Harper, Harwood, Hastie, Hinder, Holmes, Joy, Khadka, Kimmance, McKay, McKenna, Mortimer, Munford, Naghi, Newton, Parfitt-Reid, Perry, Purle, Mrs Robertson, D Rose, M Rose, Round, Russell, J Sams, T Sams, Spooner, Springett, Trzebinski, S Webb, de Wiggondene-

Sheppard and Young

91. MINUTE'S SILENCE

The Council stood in silence for one minute in memory of Mrs Ann Allen MBE, Chairman of Kent County Council, who passed away in October 2021.

92. PRAYERS

Prayers were said by the Very Reverend John S Richardson of All Saints Church.

93. RECORDING OF PROCEEDINGS

Councillors Cannon and McKay reserved their right to record the proceedings.

94. DEPUTY MAYOR SELECT 2022/23

The Mayor took the opportunity to advise the Council that, following discussions, there were two Councillors with the same seniority who wished to be Deputy Mayor in 2022/23. In accordance with the agreed Protocol in such circumstances, she had drawn lots and the winner of the draw was Councillor Newton. Members would be asked to vote on the appointment of Deputy Mayor Select, taking into account the outcome of the draw, in due course.

95. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

It was noted that apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Mrs Ring, R Webb and Wilby.

96. APPLICATIONS FOR DISPENSATIONS

There were no applications for dispensations.

97. DISCLOSURES BY MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

There were no disclosures by Members or Officers.

<u>Note</u>: Councillor Trzebinski joined the meeting during consideration of this item. (6.44 p.m.).

98. DISCLOSURES OF LOBBYING

Councillors Brice, Brindle, Bryant, Garten, Hastie, Hinder, Kimmance and de Wiggondene-Sheppard indicated that they had been lobbied on the notice of motion relating to Whole Council Elections.

99. EXEMPT ITEMS

RESOLVED: That the items on the agenda be taken in public as proposed.

100. PETITIONS

There were no petitions.

101. QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

There were no questions from members of the public.

102. QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL TO THE CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

There were no questions from Members to the Chairmen of Committees.

103. NOTICE OF MOTION - WHOLE COUNCIL ELECTIONS

The following motion was moved by Councillor Purle, seconded by Councillor Burton:

That Maidstone Borough Council hereby adopts a scheme of Whole Council Elections, meaning an electoral cycle of one election every four years with all Councillors being elected, with the first such election being in 2024.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 23.4, five Members of the Council requested that a named vote be taken on the motion. The voting was as follows:

FOR (39)

Councillors Bartlett, Mrs Blackmore, Brice, Brindle, Bryant, Burton, Cannon, Cooke, Cooper, Cox, Cuming, Daley, Eves, Fissenden, Forecast,

Fort, Garten, Mrs Gooch, Mrs Grigg, Hastie, Hinder, Holmes, Mrs Joy, McKay, McKenna, Munford, Newton, Parfitt-Reid, Perry, Purle, D Rose, Round, Russell, Spooner, Springett, Trzebinski, S Webb, de Wiggondene-Sheppard and Young

AGAINST (5)

Councillors Coates, Harper, M Rose, J Sams and T Sams

ABSENTIONS (8)

Councillors Clark, English, Harwood, Khadka, Kimmance, Mortimer, Naghi and Mrs Robertson

Having achieved the necessary two thirds majority of those Members present and voting:

MOTION CARRIED

RESOLVED: That Maidstone Borough Council hereby adopts a scheme of Whole Council Elections, meaning an electoral cycle of one election every four years with all Councillors being elected, with the first such election being in 2024.

<u>Note</u>: Councillor Forecast joined the meeting during consideration of this item (6.55 p.m.). Councillor Forecast said that he had no disclosures of interest or of lobbying.

104. **DURATION OF MEETING**

6.30 p.m. to 7.25 p.m.